Blurb:

“𝘍𝘪𝘳𝘴𝘵, 𝘥𝘰 𝘯𝘰 𝘩𝘢𝘳𝘮…”

It’s the start of my oath as a doctor, and breaking that oath is how I began my career.

Only I didn’t just do harm, I watched a man die right in front of me.

And not just any man—a man I hated.

I thought his death would bring me peace, but it haunts me to this day.

Every close call sparks memories of what I did to him, to me, 𝘵𝘰 𝘩𝘦𝘳.

I have to go back and face what I’ve done or end my career.

Seeing her hits me harder than the regret.

She’s still so beautiful with long, dark hair, bright amber eyes, luscious curves.

She still dominates my heart, my mind, my bed.

But she’s different now—stronger, bolder, unafraid.

We’re a mess, tangled up in a web I created.

But I’m determined to heal these wounds, to fix this break.

One thing is certain, 𝘐 𝘸𝘰𝘯’𝘵 𝘴𝘢𝘺 𝘨𝘰𝘰𝘥𝘣𝘺𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘢𝘨𝘢𝘪𝘯.

My Review:

Tangled Up by Tia Louise is the fourth and final book in the Bayside Heroes series. We finally get Beck’s story and find out who he has been off visiting during the other books. This is a small town, second-chance, brother’s best friend romance with a touch of suspense and enemies-to-lovers vibe. To me out of the four books, this is the one that was a complete standalone.

Dr Beckham Munroe works at Bayside Regional in the geriatric department. He struggles with PTSD due to a traumatic event when he was a resident. He still feels guilty that he didn’t manage to save a patient’s life and can’t accept it wasn’t his fault. 

Caroline ‘Carly’ Dennison grew up in Eden with her brother Henry and when their parents died their Aunt Vivienne took them in. She is now a criminal psychologist working for the Police. She has problems at work due to her recommendations for one of her patients so has been sent home for her safety. 

This story starts with the multi-car crash that is featured in each book. Beck is helping with the casualties in the trauma unit when an old gentleman he recognises from Eden is brought in. This brings up bad memories for him and triggers feelings he thought he’d suppressed. After pulling himself together, he saves Mr Callahan’s life. Beck used to spend every summer in Eden and became friends with Henry and Carly. Beck and Carly became a sweethearts, experienced all their firsts together and were inseparable until he went off to medical school. 

It has been seven years but he is still haunted by his mistakes with Carly and he realises he must confront what happened and stop running from the memories. To face all his issues he decides to drive to Eden under the pretence of checking up on Mr Callahan. He sees Carly his first night back and all the chemistry and attraction is still there. He realises he has never stopped loving her and must win her back. Carly is still confused over what happened between them all those years ago so is shocked to see him back. 

We follow them as they reignite their relationship and slowly we find out what really happened. Be prepared for the twists and turns because it is all far more complicated and involved than either of them knew. Then just as you think they have finally found their happiness, her work issues come back with a vengeance. This was a bit obvious but it did provide some suspense, drama and excitement to the story. When the secrets are revealed and the truth comes out, will it give them both the peace they need and have been looking for. 

We meet Henry, Carly’s best friend Jessica and other Eden residents. I would have liked to have seen a bit more from the characters from the other books and felt we didn’t get a proper finish to the series. Maybe the authors will consider a fifth book with a section from each of them to fully complete these characters stories. Overall I have enjoyed these books and liked the concept of this multi-author, medical romance series.