Blurb:

A PUPPET

The men in the secret society known as the Lords think they rule the world. And in a way, they do. Each has sold their soul to the devil at a young age in exchange for power and wealth. Like anything else, they have different levels of success. The more they’re willing to serve, the more power they have.

Among them are the Spade brothers, who run Carnage. It’s where the Lords who have not held up their oath go to live out the rest of their lives in shackles. Tucked away from the world as if they never existed.

I VOW. YOU VOW. WE VOW.

I once belonged to a Lord—Saint Beckham Carter. Although nothing was holy about him, I still kneeled as if he could grant me eternity in a world where only evil existed.

At the time, I willingly vowed to be his and allowed him to share me with his “brothers.” But things changed. And what I thought couldn’t get any better got exceptionally worse. So I did the only thing I could and ran from him, knowing I could never return.

Now he’s found me and dragged me back to his hell, where he will make me his pet. The world already thinks I’m dead, so no one will miss me. And I’m just another name on a long list of those who will never know freedom.

What he doesn’t know is why I ran from him in the first place. A Lord doesn’t listen to reason, so it’s not like he’d care anyway. Saint was born a Lord, and he will die as one.

If life has taught me anything, it’s that we all pay for our sins. And Saint will never let me forget that my place is at Carnage, serving him on my knees until death is granted.

My 4* Review:

Carnage by Shantel Tessier is a dark revenge romance told in dual POV. Set in her Lords world 

but can be read as a standalone. It is a long story told in two parts and you really must read the trigger warnings. This secret society are all deviant and ruthless so there are many acts of brutality and violence. The story is about Spade Brother Saint Beckham Carter and his chosen one Ashtyn Lake Price. If you have read the author’s previous books then you will know The Spade brothers are a special kind of Lord. 

Saint, Kashton, Haidyn and Adam were born into the secret society and grew up together. The story starts with them starting their freshman year at Barrington University. They will be initiated if they pass three trials and then will be gifted a chosen one in their senior year. Once graduated they will run Carnage like their fathers. Saint is obsessed with Adam’s twin sister Ashtyn and is determined she will be his. 

Ashtyn has loved Saint for years and is desperate to be his chosen one. She pushes their friendship to the limits as the rules have the guys celibate during the trials. The chemistry between them is undeniable and they give as good as they get when together. She is delighted when she becomes his, understands what it means and can’t wait to experience all he has promised her. 

Saint has a very dirty mind and mouth, and luckily she loves all he does to her and turns out to be as hedonistic as he is. I liked how she accepted Ashton and Haidyn would be part of her life with Saint. He was very possessive and protective of her because once she was his no-one else would ever have her. There are lots of twists and turns and family drama. Things escalate with manipulation, lies and betrayal. She feels she has no other option and runs away after some horrific events and surprise revelations. 

Part two is four years later and all about Saint’s revenge on Ashtyn for leaving him. It is far darker and very disturbing at times. Both of them have gone through hell but for Ashtyn it will be nothing compared to what he has in store for her. After experiencing the consequences of Ashtyn escaping, The Spade brothers now run Carnage, the horrendous prison for anyone who upset the Lords. Although her feelings for Saint never went away, he is not the boy she was in love with anymore. He has been haunted by what she did and wants to punish her for what he has been through. What will happen when the truth is exposed and can he continue to protect her when others are scheming against them. Is he prepared to lose the one thing he has always wanted. 

I haven’t read any of the Lords series so didn’t know all the other characters from those stories. It was a shame that the savagery and cruelty did sometimes distract from the story but overall it was an interesting story. I did get confused a few times especially as there were so many questions I never got the answers to and I couldn’t understand why and how some things happened. Hopefully if his friends get their own books then this will clarify things for me.