Blurb:

He calls me perfect.

His flawless pet.

His good girl.

Broken down and wounded by my emotionally neglectful ex, I wanted someone to tell me I was good enough.

Then, I stumbled into a new job with a boss who brings me to my knees—literally. He has me do things a real secretary would never do.

Emerson Grant tells me I’m more than just good enough.

I’m worthy of his praise.

There are a million reasons why I should stay away. The owner of the Salacious Players’ Club is not just my new boss, he’s twice my age.

And my ex-boyfriend’s father.

With him, I am treasured. I am adored. I am his.

I’m a good girl, but I’m falling for the wrong man.

Emerson Grant knows what he wants—

And he wants me.

So how far will I go to hear his approval?

My Review :

Praise by Sara Cate is a standalone story about Emerson Grant and Charlotte Underwood. This is a forbidden, age-gap, son’s ex, Dom-sub romance and the first in a new series. It is a fun, steamy read introducing the owners of a sex club. If you like a taboo steamy read with a little kink thrown in for good measure then this is the book for you. Emerson is a handsome older guy who fights his feelings for the young, slightly naive Charlotte. Meanwhile she grows in confidence and learns not to be embarrassed or ashamed of her desires and starts to feel comfortable in her own body. 

We are first introduced to Emerson, when he is having a drink with his friends Garrett, Hunter and Maggie. They all like the more kinky side of life and like to indulge in their sexual fantasies but find it hard to meet people who have similar interests. Emerson comes up with the idea of the Salacious Players’ Club dating app to match up people by their kinks and also the opportunity to hire someone to fulfil specific desires. Fast forward seven years and the app has been a great success and the group of friends are about to open their first members only club to provide a safe place for people to explore and enjoy themselves.

Charlie has just broken up with her boyfriend Beau and is trying to get her deposit back from him. He hasn’t been the best boyfriend so her sister Sophie is delighted they have broken up. Charlie is really cross because she is going to have to get it from his dad. She knows very little about his dad because Beau doesn’t have anything to do with him so she presumes he will be difficult like his son. What she doesn’t expect is the strange reception she gets at his house and is shocked at how handsome he is for an older man. She is cross but aroused at what he expects her to do to get the deposit back. She knows she should be humiliated at his inappropriate actions but is fascinated by what happens. 

Emerson is distraught when he finds out the beautiful girl is his son’s ex girlfriend. He can’t believe how submissive and lovely she is. He is disappointed because she is absolutely perfect for him but too young and now forbidden. Their relationship starts to flourish when he comes up with a solution for their predicament. He loves that she is so curious about his lifestyle and constantly asks him questions. He fights his dominant cravings because he knows it is going to get him into trouble but he enjoys teaching her about his world. She realises she loves the adoration he shows her and desires his praise. Emerson tries to do whats best for her, he understands her so well and really wants her to see she is enough and worthy of the happiness she desires. It does get quite emotional and intense as their story develops especially as other people are involved and have to be considered.

Some of the secondary characters really bring a lot to the story and are a diverse group. Her sister is very interesting and has her own issues she is dealing with. Her ex Beau also has his own problems and I did start to feel some sympathy towards him. Garrett was very supportive and Drake made me laugh with his antics so I am looking forward to the rest of the series. This is so much more than just a BDSM read, they both learn a lot from each other and grow together. I loved how he makes her blossom and raises her self esteem. If you like a man on his knees then you’ll love the ending when Charlie really comes into her own.