Blurb:

He’s devious, and my soon to be husband.

I didn’t choose him.

I was coerced.

Whiskey has a way of manipulating me. He knows that I’ll do whatever it takes to protect my family.

He’s found my weakness and he’s exploiting it. Seizing as he sees as his opportunity.

Now, I’m his wife for the next year.

I’m counting down the days until my time is up.

Until I’m free.

However, it doesn’t seem to matter how devious he is, or that he’s my father’s friend.

When he’s near, I want him to stay.

I hate that I love being married to my devious husband.

My 4* Review:

Devious Beloved by T.L. Smith is a standalone and was previously published as Cruel Beloved. It is a fake marriage, enemies to lovers, age-gap romance between billionaire Whiskey Corton and Lottie Snow, a senator’s daughter. It is a story about revenge, deception, secrets and lies, but also an unexpected love and putting the past to rest. 

Lottie goes to a party with her best friend Emma but leaves early and encounters Whiskey. She had a teenage crush on him when he worked for her father. It’s been years since she last saw him but one thing leads to another and they have a one night stand. She never thought she’d see him again but a year later, that night ends up changing her life forever.

Lottie is a fiery and sassy redhead, who owns a bar and likes rebelling against her controlling father. She always does as he asks but has recently broken off her engagement to a man he chose for her. This provides an opportunity for Whiskey to blackmail her to be his wife for a year. He has a plan and Lottie is a means to an end. He is very devious and manipulative as he is determined to seek his revenge. He likes her anger and hatred for him but also sees the desire in her eyes. She isn’t what he expected and nothing like her parents so his best friend Barry, is worried Whiskey might fall for her. 

She is furious with him for forcing her into this fake marriage and fed up with men controlling her life. She wonders what his true motives are for marrying her? Games are played and bargains made as they fight the growing feelings between them. She is confused over wanting him when he’s only using her. When he starts playing dirty she finds it harder to resist and dreads dealing with him for a whole year. 

He’s planned for her to fall for him not the other way around so will she beat him at his own game? She likes making it hard for him and won’t settle down and be his obedient ‘bunny’.  She hates to love him but it gets harder every day. It is amusing as he tries to convince himself he doesn’t want her but doesn’t want anyone else to have her.  

I absolutely adored Barry and Emma because they were so funny and hope we get their story. Barry thinks Lottie could destroy him as can see he has feelings for her and Emma doesn’t hold back on telling Whiskey what she thinks.  I giggled at how annoyed he got with her snoring and how she made him propose properly. 

The twists at the end are interesting and there are some unexpected revelations. Whiskey at times did seem cold but when we learn the reasons for his actions, I actually felt sorry for him and could understand why he came up with his plan.

How will she react when she learns the truth? Can he right all the wrongs, get her to trust him and have the HEA and love neither expected. A little predictable but overall an enjoyable read.