Blurb:

Lightning can strike the same place more than once.

The first time, it robbed me of my high school sweetheart.

Shattering our forever.

I was just sixteen.

Too young to understand the medical jargon that meant she was gone.

Too naïve to see that forever was nothing but a fairytale.

Now, years later, I meet Ameline.

I tried not to fall in love, but it was impossible.

She gathered all my broken pieces and put me back together.

I knew the only way to keep myself intact was never to love again.

But I fell for the illusion of forever once more.

At least until I lost her.

Now I’m left questioning everything.

What does forever mean when it’s built on a foundation of pain and loss?

How do you move on when lightning keeps targeting your heart?

Why bother believing in forever when tomorrow isn’t guaranteed?

The Lies About Forever is book one of the Impossibly Possible duet that ends on a jarring cliffhanger that will break you into a million pieces.

My 5* Review:

The Lies About Forever by Claudia Burgoa is book one of the Impossibly Possible duet. It is a slow burn romance between Gabriel Decker and Ameline Lewis. It is a story that is full of family drama, complicated relationships and heartbreaking revelations. The feelings this book evokes will stay with you long after you’ve finished. You will experience every emotion as they face challenges and life changing events. Although there is sadness and grief, fear and suspicions, the author also gives us joy and hope all wrapped up in an unforgettable love story. This couple will steal your heart right from the start and the cliffhanger will leave you desperate for the second part of this duet.

The prologue gives us an insight into what Gabriel suffered in his life four years ago and is the reason behind his reluctance to fall in love again. He is now twenty and unlike his twin brother, he has stayed in Seattle to help his parents and five siblings. One weekend his housemate Cedric has his little sister come to stay and things don’t go to plan. 

Ameline is seventeen at the start of the story. Her father is on his fifth wife and as much as she loves her dad, he is very cold and controls every aspect of his children’s lives. One weekend she manages to persuade him to let her stay with her brother and she meets Gabriel. This starts a friendship which has far reaching effects for both of them. She has crush on him but is positive it is unrequited as they slowly get to know each other. 

We follow the couple as their relationship develops over a couple of years as she goes off to college and he starts med school. They keep in contact and I loved their texts to each other. We also get to see how their family situations and dynamics are totally different. Everything becomes complicated when events take a turn for the worse and it is interesting who supports the couple and who doesn’t. If you have read any of the author’s Decker Family books then you will have met some of the secondary characters. I haven’t but I really liked Archer. 

Gabe and Ame are just so good together even if she doesn’t quite believe it at first. She has had a complicated life and it doesn’t get any easier. I was amazed at her fortitude and resilience as she tries to cope with everything and was so pleased she had Gabe by her side. He was so sweet and thoughtful in all he did, especially once he admitted his feelings for her.  However, will his solution to what they are facing be bad timing or exactly how it should be? What will be the consequences and will forever mean forever this time? We will have to wait for The Truth About Us. This is an incredible book which I haven’t been able to get out of my head so I totally recommend it.