Blurb:

Ruby Rose declared me the enemy before I had a chance to defend myself.
I may be an attorney, but this girl had appointed herself judge and jury. 
And I’d never minded a good verbal sparring.
There was a comfort in going to battle against the evil queen.
Maybe it was just the recognition of one damaged soul to another.
But the more we fought—the more I craved her.
Until our arguing turned into a bit of a wager.
One I was determined to win.
One time. Sixty seconds. A secret only we would share.
I’d work my magic and she’d declare me the winner.
I’d gloat, she’d sulk—that was my plan.
She was determined to prove me wrong.
But from the minute we crossed the line, there was no turning back.
She was so far under my skin I couldn’t think straight.
Feeling things that I’d never felt before was one thing.
But knowing the clock was ticking was another.
Ruby Rose may have given me more than sixty seconds, but she wasn’t offering forever.
And now my world doesn’t work without her in it.
But how do I convince her to stay, when she already has one foot out the door?

My 5* Review:

Wild River is book two in Laura Pavlov’s Magnolia Falls series and it is great being back with these five guys as I loved the first book. This time it is River Pierce who unexpectedly finds love when Ruby Rose returns home when her father has a stroke. This can be read as a standalone but I totally recommend you read Loving Romeo first because it explains all that River has been through and the ‘Ride or Die’ friendship the guys have. I found this a delightful and entertaining read about a couple who are both hard on the outside and damaged on the inside. I really liked how it was a battle of wills as these enemies become lovers, while everyone else could see what was happening. Can they both put the past behind them and trust their feelings?

River became an attorney after life was unfair to him and Romeo. He doesn’t open up easily or  trust anyone outside his close group of friends. He is a broody loner who doesn’t do relationships. He has become close to Lionel Rose who owns the Whisky Falls bar but not seen his daughter for years.

Ruby  has worked so hard for a better life but now returned home to run the bar while her father recuperates. She is shocked how River affects her when they meet at the hospital but is determined nothing will come of it. They fight and argue, banter and tease each other. She is so sarcastic at times and constantly taunts him, especially over how he does his job. 

Ruby turns his life upside down and he can’t get her out of his mind. She is the strongest woman he has ever met. They are both guarded due to their childhoods and she doesn’t know how to allow anyone to help her as she has dealt with her family’s problems all her life. As their friendship develops, there is a sixty second bet and a friends with benefits arrangement. They know it will end when she goes back to the university but he realises he really likes her.

I loved how these guys pull together and help each other out. Some of their suggestions and teasing was fantastic. His brother Kingston was on excellent form and made me crack up, along with Beefcake who was talking his own love language!! The girls all look after Ruby and make her see that the place she used to hate could actually feel like home? Liked seeing some of the characters from her Cottonwood Cove series and how they all get involved in River’s love life. 

When he has a knee-jerk reaction to a situation, it looks like he has ruined everything between them, so enjoy all his grovelling and whoever thought sticky notes could be a love language!! There is a great conversation with her dad who put things into perspective. Will she take the job at the university or will River ask her to stay? Will either admit their love and risk their hearts? Can these two broken souls who both think they are incapable of love, heal each other and have the happy future they both deserve. Really looking forward to the next book Forbidden King because oh dear – Kingston and Saylor are asking for trouble!!