Blurb:

I was always yours, but are you mine?

I’ve been on every bad date you can think of, and I’m still traumatised by some of them. I know I’m a curvy girl, but I still deserve a nice guy.

I decide to give Internet dating one last go, and that’s when I meet Lee. He’s the perfect guy—smart, funny, and incredibly sexy. He brings out a praise kink I didn’t even know I had, and I just want to be his good girl.

Sadly, Lee doesn’t want a relationship, and instead proposes we be friends with benefits.

The more time we spend together, and the more benefits we enjoy, the more my heart is put on the line. So why can’t I walk away?

When life throws me a deadly curveball, and I lose all hope, I push everyone away. But as Lee fights to be part of my life, we both have to reevaluate what we’re really looking for. 

Is there any chance we were both meant for each other?

I Was Always Yours is a heartbreaking, friends with benefits romance featuring a curvy girl looking for love and the guy who shows her what life and love is really like. This book is intended for mature readers and there are plenty of spicy scenes featuring praise kink.

My 4* Review:

I Was Always Yours by Emma Luna is a contemporary romance about Emmaleigh Wayward and Lee Forden. This is not a dark story like this author usually writes but it is a fun look at dating and the ups and downs of a starting relationship. She is looking for commitment but he doesn’t do relationships. Find out what happens when feelings, insecurities and life changing events affect the pair. It has some angst and heart break before the couple are finally on the same page.

“I’m going nowhere, Beautiful. I was always yours.”

Emmaleigh and Lee are both finding the dating scene depressing until they meet on an app. They seem to be getting on and arrange to meet up but things don’t go as planned. Luckily they sort out the misunderstanding and finally get together. Over the weeks of texts Emmaleigh felt connected with Lee and slowly fell for him once they met, however, Lee announces he doesn’t do relationships so only wants a friends with benefits arrangement. 

Lee has his reasons for pushing women away if they want commitment from him and has built up walls around his heart so he is unsure how she is working her way inside. He feels the pull to Em and starts to wonder if it is selfish to want her only as a friend with benefits especially when the lines become blurred. 

Emmaleigh has her demons and self doubt over her weight, she feels her insecurities overwhelm her but Lee manages to make her feel special. His words and actions are very confusing but something draws her to him and when he tries to push her away she is determined to hold on and fight for him. She knows he might never change his mind but what if he is the one and just needs a nudge in the right direction? 

It gets quite spicy as they get to know each other and explore different things. I found his best friend Craig funny and it was so sweet when he told Lee a few home truths and voiced his concerns. When she makes him want it all, can he admit he wants her and be who she deserves. Will she accept his change of heart when her situation changes?

A story that looks at different things that can affect a relationship and fighting for what you really want. This is an emotional story about finding yourself, dealing with things life throws at you and accepting help when you need it. It was easy to understand all Emmaleigh goes through and the author certainly makes you question if Lee is really right for her but I loved how he makes her feel brave and confident. Don’t forget to sign up to get the lovely extended epilogue.