Blurb:

Have you ever stopped to think your actions will ever come back to bite you? Me neither.
Did I, Deakon Brosley of Screaming Shadows, ever think I would care? Not for a second.


For years I lived life to the fullest and could have cared less about what other people thought. That was until I felt a magnetic pull to someone I couldn’t ignore.

That person was Sadie, my bandmate’s damaged, snarky housekeeper who has the personality of a toad. The maddening thing about this is it’s girls like her I’d normally go out of my way to avoid. Sadie’s easy on the eye. Physically, she’s my type … from her incredibly long auburn hair, right down her cute, little painted toes. But that’s not the burning attraction. It’s more about the wired connection whenever she’s near me.

Part of my problem is I sense it’s a two way thing, but the girl won’t budge on her mood. Not that I blame her. I usually don’t do romance or relationships, they’re more trouble than they’re worth.
She’s arrogant, discourteous, impertinent, and rude—this list is far from exhausted.

So how come I can’t get her out of my head and find I can’t resist her? Beats me.

The attraction I felt was instant, but that was before she spoke. Hell, perhaps in some sadistic way I get turned on by being slapped down by her vindictive, scathing tongue. This point is a real possibility because since I’ve lived with fame, it’s rarely ever done.

My bandmate, her boss, is overprotective of her, and constantly warns me off. So why am I so persistent and determined to get under her skin? Could it be that one damaged soul has found another?

My 5* Review:

Until Deakon is the third book in the excellent PulseTunes Rock Gods series by K.L. Shandwick. This time we have the lead guitarist of Screaming Shadows, Deakon Brosley. The other band members are all involved because the woman who turns his head is Sadie, Levi’s housekeeper. This is an emotional tale about facing the past and finding a way to move forward as secrets are revealed. Nothing worth going for is ever easy and these two prove it in their journey to a HEA.

Sadie is a snarky, feisty woman, who has one hell of an attitude. For over two years she has never been afraid to tell any of the band members what she thinks. She has an uncanny ability to switch from nice to frightening and is a mystery to them all. When she has a rare night out with the guys it gives Deakon the opportunity to explore his attraction towards her. Things take a surprising turn but then it is back to them battling against each other. Sadie hates she has feelings for Deakon because he is everything she can’t have. 

Deakon shows such compassion and patience with Sadie. Levi is very protective of her and willing to let her keep her secrets but Deakon knows she must confide in someone to be able to move on. He wants to find out why she is hiding away in Levi’s pool house and not out enjoying life. His reputation as a rockstar has been well publicised and even his bandmates start to question his intentions with Sadie but we see a different side to him as he is so focused on persuading Sadie that he can be the right man for her. 

The tension builds between the band as Deakon refuses to step down in his pursuit of her and his relationship with Levi is put to the test. How can he prove he is not taking advantage of her. Their interactions at times are very funny which helps because when they are struggling with their attraction towards each other. Both their stories are heart breaking and their traumas have affected them both deeply. He is so kind and caring throughout all the ups and downs. I loved how he makes her feel desired and convinces her to be brave. 

 At first Sadie is frustrating and seems to enjoy arguing with him. I was cross with her for not seeing how serious Deakon was but when her past is finally disclosed you get to understand her behaviour and why she is scared. But I must admit I was impressed with her decision to do what she does because it takes strength and courage. I was very excited to have some more of the one and only Gibson Barclay as Chloe becomes a huge support to Sadie. This series just keeps getting better and better as we learn more about each band member as they find ‘the one’.