Scared? You should be. 🐰

⚠️Due to explicit language, graphic sex, detailed depictions of death and grief, intense power play dynamics, and other possible triggers too numerous to list, it is not suitable for sensitive readers.⚠️

Blurb:

The first letter arrived the day my husband was buried. It was postmarked from the state penitentiary, and contained a single sentence:

I’ll wait forever if I have to.

It was signed by Dante, a man I didn’t know.

Out of simple curiosity, I wrote back to ask him what exactly he was waiting for. His reply?

You.

I told the mystery man he had the wrong girl. He said he didn’t. I said we’d never met, but he said I was wrong.

We went back and forth, exchanging letters every week that grew increasingly more intimate. Then one day, the letters stopped. When I found out why, it was already too late.

Dante was at my doorstep.

And nothing on earth could have prepared me for what happened next.

My Review:

OMG – what a book!! Pen Pal by J.T. Geissinger is a book you need to experience. A complex story which captured me from the start. It is a dark romantic suspense so there are plenty of surprises and shocks, twists and turns, spooky vibes as the mysteries build up and then the mind-boggling revelations at the end. A weird and wonderful tale that I found riveting but there are triggers for some people and the author admits it is not a traditional romance or HEA. 

Kayla Reece is having a hard time recovering from the sudden death of her husband. She is attempting to take one day at a time to cope with the grief but after his funeral, strange things start happening in her house. Then suddenly she begins to receive letters from Dante, a prisoner at Washington State Penitentiary. Why is he writing to her? Is he lonely and wants a pen pal? 

The author slowly tells the story of how things escalate for Kayla. She is sure her memory is playing tricks on her and she feels her life is spiralling out of control. Her housekeeper comes up with some plausible reasons for the inexplicable and weird events but Kayla isn’t convinced.

Luckily there turns out to be one person she can turn to, who gives her the strength to carry on when she starts to question her hold on reality with all the weird things happening. Even though she can see he is hiding secrets, he becomes exactly what she needs.

I absolutely loved it because not only was it gripping and intense but throughout you are left wondering, just like Kayla, what is going on. The romance part was swoon worthy but also very kinky with his dominant ways. Loved all the fun nicknames they had for each other. The author does drop hints during the book but I was so engrossed in the story that I didn’t pick many up.  When they were later revealed, I couldn’t believe I’d missed them. 

“You better run away now, bunny, before I tear you to f*ck*ng pieces.”

It would spoil the experience of reading this book by divulging any more details of the plot. Try to  avoid spoilers as the ending will be so much more gratifying. I liked all the characters and thought they all had a part to play in Kayla’s story, even if some were creepy and others hiding secrets. A well-written book which is so much more than the blurb leads you to believe. I found it a mind blowing romantic suspense, a unique and unforgettable book. I was a fan of this author before reading this, now she has become a firm favourite of mine and I can’t wait for whatever is next.