The Goode Brothers Series:

The Anti-Hero #1 – Out Now

The Home Wrecker #2 – March 2024

The Heart Breaker #3 – Late 2024

The Prodigal Son #4 – 2025

Blurb:

I’ve been good long enough.

As the eldest son of Austin’s most prominent preacher, I’ve lived my life on the virtuous side. No scandals. Flawless image. Clean reputation. 

That’s the way it must be if I’m going to take his place someday.

But everything changes when I find out my father is a VIP member of a local kink club.

A liar. A cheater. A hypocrite.

Now, I’m done being righteous.

And when the club owner’s jaded girlfriend comes to me with a proposal, I can’t resist.

Sage is nothing like the women I’ve dated before. Pink hair, tattoos, piercings. I know it’ll burn my father’s reputation to the ground when she and I are seen together.

But our fake dating scheme isn’t enough. We need videos—dirty videos.

The more we film these scenes, the more I like it.

She wants me to degrade her, hurt her, violate her.

And God help me, I want it too.

But it’s hardly fake anymore, and before long I don’t recognize the Goode man I used to be.

My 4* Review:

The Anti-Hero by Sara Cate is book one in her new The Goode Brothers series and is dedicated to all the rule breakers. It is an opposites attract romance between Adam Goode and Sage. They are from two totally different worlds and should not be compatible but a chance meeting turns both their worlds upside down. Their story is one full of secrets and lies, betrayal and hypocrisy, hurt and revenge. Add in some BDSM, fake dating and sex tapes, the author has written a fascinating tale about a good boy going bad! 

We first meet Adam Goode when he is twelve years old and his family are starting a new chapter in their lives. It is the first day at his father’s new church and he is looking forward to helping him save the city. Fast forward and his father is now Austin’s most prominent preacher. Adam has been a good person and son for all of his thirty seven years. He has followed the rules, done what is right and all he can to make his father proud of him. He enjoys writing his father’s sermons and is eagerly anticipating taking over as preacher and continuing fathers legacy. 

Sage is a petite woman with shocking pink hair and tattoos. She lives about a laundrette with her three-legged chihuahua Roscoe and helps Brett, her boyfriend, run a sex club called Pink. One Saturday she has just finished a late shift and is frustrated with the queue at the diner, when a Good Samaritan lets her go in front of him. To her Adam is conservative and not her type but she finds it’s fun flirting and chatting to him knowing they will probably never see each other again. 

Adam can’t stop thinking about her but wonders if he is attracted to her or if it is because she is the most interesting person he’s ever met. He knows she would cause chaos with his parents but he felt the chemistry between them. Then an astonishing discovery leads him back to her and a catalogue of events changes his life forever. His purpose in life and the standards he’s set himself are brutally torn away from him and he is left full of anger and hurt. Everything he has known changes as he is betrayed by the one person he has always looked up to. 

When information comes to light, the entire world falls apart for both of them as she loses Brett, Pink and her investment, and he finds the truth out about his dad. Sage wants to fight for the club plus she can help Adam with his hypocritical father. She comes up with a plan for them to get revenge on those who have destroyed their lives. As they pretend they are dating, he can’t understand why he behaves the way he does with her but loves it. 

 I thought Sage was funny and really pushed his buttons but was also sympathetic towards him. I enjoyed Adam’s journey of self-discovery and exploration. I felt sorry for him as he had buried all his resentment and bitterness for years. There is so much more going on in his family so it is going to be interesting reading his brother’s stories, especially Isaac.