Blurb:

After my divorce, I decide to move across the country away from family and friends for a new start.

What I don’t expect is him.

He’s only supposed to be a one-night stand, but fate has other plans.

The next time I see him it’s because I’m on a date with his dad.

I’ve always believed in wishing on elevens, but this time I get a little more than I bargained for by falling for a guy eleven years younger than me.

Reid is everything I shouldn’t want and everything I need.

The question is, am I willing to open my heart up to him? Or am I doomed to let my past hold me back?

My 5* Review:

Eleven Eleven by Micalea Smeltzer is a small town, reverse age gap romance between Via James and Reid Crawford. The title relates to not only her lucky number but also the time on a clock that grows to have a significance and the age gaps between her and the two Crawford men. Reid may appear a cute boy-next-door but he has a very grown-up persona in the bedroom. Even though some tough issues are covered, the book is a fun read and I thoroughly enjoyed watching Reid break down Via’s walls. Supported by a cast of great secondary characters, he shows her the love and a life she has always deserved. 

“Take the risk. I’m worth your while.”

All Via wants is a fresh start after her divorce. She has packed up her life, quit her job and driven across country. She has randomly chosen the small town of Parkerville and bought a building she has never seen. For once in her life she is following her passion for art. She doesn’t know what to expect and is determined to try new things but never considered falling in love. On her first night out she notices a guy celebrating with his friends. What she isn’t prepared for is the instant connection when their eyes meet.  

Reid had to grow up quickly when his mum died and now lives every day as if his last. While out celebrating his twenty-first, a gorgeous woman at the bar catches his attention. The eleven year age-gap means nothing to him because she intrigues him and he wants to get to know her. Their one night stand becomes so much more.

She struggles with her feelings for him but she never stood a chance because he’s irresistible and her body just reacts to him. They never thought they’d see each other again but a date with Derrick, her contractor, she is faced with a horrifying scenario when she finds out Reid is his son. 

Reid shows such maturity for a young guy, he’s so supportive and caring. He knew she was it for him right from the start and is determined to change her mind. I loved how he opens her eyes up to her marriage, builds up her trust and makes her want to enjoy herself for once in her life. His dominant side made me giggle but I really felt his anguish when he realises both he and his dad like her. Will his love for Via kibosh his relationship with his dad? My heart went out to Derrick but luckily the author has plans for him. 

Her sister Izzy was so supportive and funny. I guessed who she would end up with so look forward to her book. Layla, his sister, has her problems which affect the whole family so hopefully we will also get her story. Reid’s relationship with his niece is so sweet and Lili who loves her ‘Uncle Weed’ is adorable. The residents of Parkerville are an entertaining and eclectic group. I loved how they made her so welcome. I giggled so much at the book club and how they made her love life into book tropes. 

It was lovely not having a third act breakup because it would have been unfair on the work Reid put into their relationship. The emotions, internal conflicts and struggles are beautiful written and this couple are totally worth your time.  I challenge you not to fall in love with glasses wearing Reid.