Blurb:

Quarterback Holden Moore can have any girl he wants.
Except me: the coach’s daughter.

With piercing green eyes, herculean biceps, and irresistible dimples, Holden is the number one target for every girl on campus. But according to his teammates, football is the only love of his life.

He’s their leader, their QB1 and team captain who is all business and no play. 

But when I’m with him? Mr. Serious isn’t serious at all. He loves to push my buttons, to pin me with those sexy eyes of his and tease me until I bite back. 

I remind him I’m off limits.
He can’t have me, and I don’t want him — or anyone else, for that matter. 

I’m here for one reason: to show my father I’m more than his greatest disappointment. 

But when an old injury flares up and I’m forced to work with Holden every day as his athletic trainer, his attempts to get under my skin start becoming harder to resist.

We can’t give in, no matter how much the air crackles between us when we’re close.
I’m the coach’s daughter, and if Holden Moore wants to go pro, he’s got to play by daddy’s rules.

Otherwise, he’ll be off the team.
And he’s not the only one with something to lose.

My 4* Review:

Quarterback Sneak is the third book in The Red Zone Rivals series by Kandi Steiner. It is a steamy, forbidden, sports romance between Holden and Julep. This is a heart breaking story, full of angst and tension as their prohibited friendship develops and suddenly it is more than their relationship at stake. 

Holden Moore is the quarterback and captain of the football team. Everything is about to change for the team as they have a new coach for the coming season. Holden is determined to help the team win the championship so he can make the draft to play professionally. Football is the only thing he cares about and he is totally focused on his dream career until she walks into the locker room. For the first time in his life his attention is shifted and all he knows is he has to have her. 

The woman of his fantasies turns out to be Julep Lee, daughter of the new coach and totally forbidden. She is a junior studying sports medicine and will be working with the football training staff. The last five years have been tough and she is concentrating on doing the best she can for herself and her dad. I liked her interesting hobby to help her cope when she’s feeling down.

The moment Holden saw Julep, he was captivated by her eyes because they hold the same haunted look of his. They have far more in common than they realise but can’t do a thing about it because neither can risk the distraction and Coach Lee makes it blatantly clear she is off-limits. 

We learn that both suffered a tragedy as teenagers but have dealt with their grief in different ways. Holden had managed to see that his life was worth living and was determined to fulfil his dreams of playing in the NFL. Julep, however, drowned herself in a mixture of alcohol and drugs, and is still struggling to find the will to live. 

Although they shouldn’t be together, the attraction is instant and the chemistry builds along with the  temptation to act on their feelings. The banter is fun as Holden loves pushing her buttons and things finally explode when she has to work on his injury.

Is it possible to keep it a secret and not let it affect the team?

What will it cost them when it all becomes too much? 

It was fun catching up with all the characters from Fair Catch and Blind Side, and Holden’s Uncles were adorable. At first I felt Coach Lee was very hard on Holden but as more was revealed, I did understand some of the things he did. The author makes you feel such empathy for this couple and all they have been through but will love be enough to see them into the future. Holden and Julep are actually really good for each other but will Holden throw everything he’s ever wanted away when his future is threatened. I enjoyed how the author treats us to two epilogues, an exciting one for this couple and a teasing one for the final book, Hail Mary.  Even though parts are sad, it was lovely how Holden helps Jules and gives her a reason to carry on living, even when she feels it is impossible.