Blurb:

Tit for tat. That’s the game we were playing, but he changed it.
Tried to end it.
Didn’t work.
And so now we’re here and I’m considering what to do because screw him, right? It should be that simple, and it would be if he wasn’t still inside my veins, still haunting my every thought. I can feel him, sense his heart pounding for life alongside mine.
Maybe one last chance then. One more hope to find each other in this timeless world of his. We’ll run and breathe and dance to his song. He’ll hunt. I’ll brace. 
We’ll collide.
That’s the plan. 
It’s a shame my past is haunting me, too.

My Review:

A Taste Of Truth is the next instalment in Malachi and Ally’s weird and very dark story. The cliffhanger ending of A Dance With Devils left us with many questions about them both and I was really intrigued to see what would happen next. After reading the first trilogy, I was expecting more crazy things to happen at the castle. If you thought that Hannah and Gray’s story was a psychedelic experience then be prepared because this is an even more intense, steamy and mind-blowing read. 

Malachi is all about games regardless of the consequences and we already know he was enjoying hunting down Ally after making her run from him. From the start of this book, I had no idea what was going on in Malachi’s mind even when he did explain a little to Ally. Their tit for tat was revealing but I felt we didn’t learn much more about either of them. 

Malachi is an enigma, a complex character whose personality changes depending on what he has taken and who he is dealing with. Ally has to fight her survival instincts with her ever growing need and want for Malachi. This is a rollercoaster ride full of hallucinatory adventures, realisations of feelings and being made to accept the extent of their problems. Gray’s pills certainly do mess with their minds and change them and really affect their thoughts. They also make life bearable for Malachi but has he now become dependent on them?  

I did find some parts a bit confusing especially as many of the scenes are linked to their reactions to the pills, however, I liked how the connection between them stays strong. Who is to blame for what happens is anyones guess. Could she be the one who is enough for him and give him a reason to exist. It is going to be interesting finale and hopefully they will be able to save each other because they certainly both need it now.