Blurb:

I have one job in this arranged marriage, and that’sto seduce my husband.

It should be easy; I’m the heiress to a transatlantic fortune, bred and raised to make a good match. I’ve spent a lifetime building up my endurance, my discipline, my dedication to my god and my church. The danger lies in falling for the devil who put his ring on my finger—a mistake I made years ago, and can’t afford to make again.

There is one more danger: handsome and green-eyed, emotionally wounded. Tristan Thomas, former soldier and my new husband’s bodyguard. A hero who stole my heart with salt-soaked kisses on the sea.

But Lyonesse is not like other places, and this isn’t like other marriages. Soon Tristan, Mark, and I are tangled in a knot of vicious jealousy and gorgeous wickedness, where suspicion is an aphrodisiac and secrets and vows are one and the same.

And there is something far darker at play than my real purpose, than the machinations of the Church I serve. Darker even than the twisted longings of my own heart. Because my husband has secrets of his own, and the reason he’ll stop at nothing to possess me could slice my soul deeper than the honeysuckle-hilted knife he gave me once upon a time.

Because when it comes to Mark Trevena and his games, the first cut is more than the deepest—it’s the sweetest.

And he always leaves you begging for more…

My 4* Review:

Honey Cut by Sierra Simone is Book Two of the Lyonesse trilogy. This is an angst ridden story, full of emotion and unexpected feelings as we follow the three characters in the next part of their journey. No one anticipates the depth of love or the deceit and betrayal that occurs. The story captivates and pulls you into their world as they face the consequences of their actions.

In Salt In The Wound we met Isolde and got an idea of what she was like and what she wanted before being forced to agree with the arranged marriage to Mark. In Salt Kiss we met Tristan and watched as he fell in love with Mark only to be heartbroken at the news of his impending marriage. Then the story became complicated when he fell for Isolde and he had to give her up on their arrival at Lyonesse. How much more could these two take?

In the prologue we find out Isolde is more mysterious than we thought and we find out what she has been up to in the years since their engagement and how her Uncle is involved in everything. I found it a little difficult to get into at the start but enjoyed it much more once the sparks between Isolde and Mark ignited.

As the wedding approaches Tristan and Isolde struggle with their feelings for each other and for Mark. Poor Tristan is torn between the two of them and hopes Mark doesn’t know what happened on the boat. However, we know what a great manipulator Mark is so will use it against him at some point.

Isolde had a plan and never considered falling in love with Mark so her promise to stay monogamous is at threat due to the pull to Tristan. Plus her devotion to the church and her loyalty to her Uncle is also tested especially when events make her doubt everything.

Mark has hidden his true feelings for both of them plus his relationship history. Slowly the revelations about both Mark and Isolde are uncovered. I was shocked at Mark’s reaction and really hope he can find a way to sort himself out. I really thought he knew what had been building between Isolde and Tristan, and maybe he does but doesn’t want them to know.

My heart went out to all of them as the author cleverly makes you constantly question what is happening and who you feel sorry for the most. I can’t wait for the last book and find out the truth behind what has been going on. Will they all regret their decisions? Can they find a way to all be together?