Blurb:

Christopher
I came from the biggest hockey family in the NHL.
Records were set by my grandfather, my father, and now my brother.
I was taught to love the game, but more than that, I learned early the men you play with are your family.
You get on the ice every night and protect them, celebrate the wins, and pick each other up when you fall.
So when we lost Benji, I stepped in to help his wife and kids, but this pull I feel when it comes to them is something more than I can even understand.

Dakota
My life was perfect, until it wasn’t.
Gone was the husband I thought I knew and in his place was a stranger.
I saw him change before my eyes.
Then he was gone, leaving me and our girls alone.
I wanted nothing to do with anyone or anything that took him away from me.
But no matter how many times I’ve told his best friend I don’t need help.
He’s here doing things for us, and the worst part is, I want him to

My 4* Review:

Meant For Her by Natasha Madison is book two in her Meant For series. Christopher Stone and Dakota ‘Koda’ have known each other for years but an unforeseen event brings them closer and changes their relationship for ever. A slow burn sports romance about a single mum determined to do her best after becoming a widow and a persistent, heart-melting hero who is amazing not only with Koda but with her girls. The story revolves around the grief and guilt they both have to deal with, plus the anger and sadness of the situation. Christopher is definitely meant for her! 

Dakota is having problems with her husband Benji. He is a professional ice hockey player but over the last year he has changed and their life together is slowly falling apart. They have two daughters Rain and Luna, who she is constantly having to protect so they don’t know what their dad is up to.They celebrate Luna’s 4th birthday but the next morning Koda finds him dead from an overdose. She feels guilty for not doing enough to stop him but also cross with his teammates for not realising his addiction was as bad as it was. 

Christopher has been best friends with Benji  since they were drafted together and always played on the same team. He was best man at their wedding and treats the girls like his nieces. He is on the annual family summer holiday when the news comes through about the tragedy. 

Koda is so angry with him for ignoring the signs and Christopher feels guilty for not realising things were that bad.  Koda  also reveals more shattering information revealing Benji wasn’t the man they both thought him to be. Christopher is shocked and angry that his best friend has done that to his wife and kids. He is so consumed with grief but luckily his family support him and he talks things through with his Uncle Viktor. He keeps in contact with Koda even though she blames him and is ignoring him. He keeps his hopes up one day she’ll reply.

Christopher is thoughtful, caring and is the only person constantly checking on her. He refuses to give up and eventually she gives in and lets him take the girls skating. She knows people might comment about their friendship but it feels right and is helping her heal. They start talking every day and spending time together. He is so good with the girls and they all get into a routine. 

Their feelings for each other build but it comes with more guilt and worries about what they are getting into. They both start wanting things they shouldn’t. He fits into their lives so easily but can they sort out all the conflicting emotions they are having. She can’t believe the love and attention he shows her girls so is it possible for them to find a future together. 

As always with Natasha’s books, family is everything and Christopher’s parents and uncles step up to support him. There are lovely interactions with his brother Dylan and rest of the huge family. His cousin Stone and Ryleigh from book one were so amusing.  

A sweet heart warming story. I loved their lists – will they ever get to end of them? Be prepared for a wonderful scene when Rain asks her Uncle Chrissy a very important question. I think I agree with Koda and he is the perfect man.