Blurb:

Nikita
Isolation is nothing new to me.
I’ve spent my entire life keeping my head down and mouth shut.
Until I meet him.
Declan O’Brien.
Something about him has me running my mouth before my mind can catch up.
When I’m given an ultimatum to die or return to Russia and my father, I choose death.
Only Declan won’t allow it. How is this my life right now?

Declan
Responsibility is the name of the game as second in command to the Chicago Westies.
It’s the only thing I have time for in my life.
Until Her.
Nikita Smirnova.
She’s meant to be the enemy, the ice princess across the hall.
Only when she chooses death over going home, I can’t allow it to happen.
So I married her.
What did I just do?

With two hearts stuck in a marriage neither wanted, will they find a way to make it work or are they destined to fail?

My 5* Review:

Declan is book ten in Cala Riley’s The Syndicate series but can be read as a standalone. This time we have Callum’s second in command Declan and his relationship with Nikita, from the Russian Bratva.  This is an enemies to lovers, forced marriage, mafia romance.

Their romance might be a slow burn but the story is fast paced, full of sexual tension and suspense. It also has plenty of banter and funny moments, especially from his best friend Tristano, who knows from the start these two are perfect for each other. Enjoy as they battle their unexpected feelings and events change their lives forever. 

This continues straight on from the events in Oh Holy Night. The attack on the families has upset Haruaki and he blames Nikita. Her father Vladimir, gave her to him a year ago and the Westies have been guarding her. Declan is so concerned when she chooses death over going home that he offers to marry her to keep her safe. She has got under his skin and now he has done something he thought he never would to protect her.

Nikita can’t understand why he is protecting her, when all she has ever known or experienced is abusive and controlling men. He has never hurt her in all the time they have been neighbours but knowing what her sister has been through thanks to their father, she prepares for the worse with Declan. She never lets her emotions show so he calls her the Russian Ice Princess. She has seen his violent and possessive side so is shocked when he is caring and gentle with her.

Their wedding night surprises them and is the catalyst that ignites the spark between them. They are both confused and conflicted over their feelings after a year of hating each other. Declan shows his protective side early on and I loved how he was determined to demolish the walls she has built up. He is captivated by her wild side when they sling insults at each other and fight constantly, but quickly realises she’s a victim not a villain. 

What happens when it doesn’t feel fake anymore? How are they going to make the other fall in love with them? Will they both get what they want? Games are played and everything isn’t as it seems.

Tristano was amazing. I loved how dramatic he was and how anything can come out of his mouth, how poor Serena puts up with him. I worried Declan was pushing their friendship to the limit. Most of the other characters from this series appear because the families are still working together to stop the trafficking ring. It was great how the women really support Nikita and offer their advice. 

While the couple negotiate married life they discover she has a stalker. Then things escalate with threats and attacks affecting everyone. Can Declan save her again? Be prepared for startling revelations and astounding twists at the end. I think things are about to get crazy so really looking forward to the next book in this excellent series.